Professional Teaching Practices Commission

Mission Statement

The Professional Teaching Practices Commission’s intent is to serve as a preventative and positive force in helping to enhance the professional performance of all educators so that the public’s right to the best education possible for all of Alaska’s students is adequately protected.

In 1966, the education profession in the state of Alaska was granted the right and responsibility to define and to enforce ethical standards of its members. The Alaska Legislature established and empowered a nine-member Commission to impose sanctions against the certificates of educators who engage in illegal, immoral, or unethical conduct. The Professional Teaching Practices Commission is composed of five teachers, one superintendent, one principal, one representative of the Department of Education & Early Development, and one representative of higher education.


The Alaska State Professional Teaching Practices Commission (PTPC) is tentatively scheduled to meet April 23-24, 2015 in Anchorage. The Commission plans to consider disciplinary actions against certificate holders, to conduct administrative reviews, and to discuss other Commission business at the Talking Book Center, 344 West 3rd Avenue.

Individuals with disabilities who may need auxiliary aid, service, or assistance may contact the PTPC office prior to the meeting. The public is welcome. For more information, call PTPC 269-6579.

Commission Members

Jill Exe (Chair)
Teacher Representative

Melody Mann (Vice Chair)
Teacher Representative

Frances Roberts (Secretary)
Teacher Representative

David DeVaughn
Teacher Representative

Eric Fry
DEED Representative

Dr. Martin Laster
Higher Ed Representative

David Piazza
Superintendent Representative

Lou Pondolfino
Principal Representative

Maureen van Wagner
Teacher Representative

The Commission deals with matters of professional conduct and certification. It has the responsibility and the power to discipline members of the teaching profession and may issue reprimands, suspensions, and/or revocations of educators’ certificates.


September 2014

April 2014

February 2014

September 2013

May 2013


Recent Commission Action

Staff Contacts Information


344 West Third Ave., Suite 127
Anchorage, AK 99501

James A. Seitz, Executive Director

Atiya Barlow, Secretary

Telephone: (907) 269-6579
Fax: (907) 269-5070