Mandated Training

Professional Development Required for School District Staff

Resources offered by EED

(Please note: district staff are not required to utilize these resources. Districts may use alternative resources.)

Laws Requiring District Staff Trainings Who must be trained? Time Requirement? Available EED Resources to comply with state and federal laws Contact Information /
Resource Links
Senate Bill 137 Chapter 34 SLA 12 Required Suicide Awareness & Prevention Training Each teacher, administrator, counselor, and specialist who is employed by a district, regional educational attendance area, or department to provide services to students in grades 7-12 in a public school. Training must be at least 2 hours in length and be provided annually. The following courses will fulfill Alaska Statute Chapter 34 SLA 12:

 

  • Suicide Prevention- Part 1
  • Suicide Prevention- Part 2
For more information call Sharon Fishel at 465-6523 or email her at sharon.fishel@alaska.gov
Alaska Statute 14.20.680 Required alcohol and drug related disabilities training Each teacher, administrator, counselor, and specialist who has not been previously trained under this section. Within 45 days after the first day of work. Fetal Alcohol Syndrome eLearning Course will fulfill Alaska Statute 14.20.680 For more information, visit education.alaska.gov/eLearning/ or email us at eLearning@alaska.gov
Alaska Statute 18.66.310 Continuing education for public employees (Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault) Employees of public schools who are required by law to report abuse or neglect of children under AS 47.17.020 Provide continuing education (time requirement determined by school district). Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Educator Training eLearning Course will fulfill Alaska Statute 18.66.310. For more information, visit education.alaska.gov/eLearning/ or email us at eLearning@alaska.gov
Alaska Statute 47.17.022 Training (Child Abuse) A person employed by the district who is required by law to report abuse or neglect of children. Mandated Reporters of child abuse & neglect include school teachers and school administrative staff members of public and private schools...more Initial training to each required new employee within 6 months; at least once every five years thereafter. Child Abuse Prevention Training
eLearning Course
will fulfill Alaska Statute 47.17.022.
For more information, visit educationa.alaska.gov/eLearning/ or email us at eLearning@alaska.gov
Alaska Statute 14.18.060(b)
4AAC 06.500
Discrimination in textbooks and instructional materials prohibited (Gender and Race Equity)
All certificated personnel, including specialized training for those who are assigned to provide guidance and counseling services. Every two years (biennial) for minimum of 3 hours The Department of Education has created 2 Gender and Race Equity eLearning courses.
  1. State of Alaska Gender and Race Equity - This eLearning course is intended for use by all certificated staff.
  2. State of Alaska Gender and Race Equity - Supplement for Counselors - This course is intended to be taken by counselors (in addition the Alaska Gender and Race Equity course) to satisfy the mandate for specialized training for staff assigned to provide guidance and counseling services.
For more information, visit education.alaska.gov/eLearning/ or email us at eLearning@alaska.gov
Regulation 4AAC 52.250
Special education aides(Education for Children with Disabilities and Gifted Children)
Aides who work with special education children Minimum of 6 hours of annual training before or concurrent with providing direct or related services The following eLearning Courses can be used to fulfill Regulation 4AAC 52.250. Aides may choose one or a combination of the following eLearning courses as long as it is equivalent to 6 hours of training:
  • Alaska Parent Guide
    (1.5 hours)
  • An Introduction to Early Childhood Transition from Part C to Part B (1 hour)
  • Early Childhood Outcomes
    (1 hour)
  • Eligibility Categories
    (6 hours)
  • Evaluation Summary and Eligibility Review (ESER)
    (1.5 hours)
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    (3 hours)
  • Identifying Learning Theory
    (1.5 hours)
  • Individualized Education Program (IEP)
    (1.5 hours)
  • Monitoring Student Progress
    (1.5 hours)
  • Post Secondary Transition Planning in the IEP (45 minutes)
  • Roles and Responsibilities (1.5 hours)
  • Strategies for Accommodating Individual Need
    (1.5 hours)
  • Supporting Student Learning Styles
    (1.5 hours)
For more information, visit education.alaska.gov/eLearning/ or email us at eLearning@alaska.gov
Regulation 4AAC 52.260
Personnel Development (Education for Children with Disabilities and Gifted Children)
Staff who work with special education children On-going (time requirement determined by school district) The following eLearning Courses can be used to fulfill Regulation 4AAC 52.260. Staff may choose one or a combination of the following courses:
  • Alaska Parent Guide (1.5 hours)
  • An Introduction to Early Childhood Transition from Part C to Part B
    (1 hour)
  • Early Childhood Outcomes
    (1 hour)
  • Eligibility Categories
    (6 hours)
  • Evaluation Summary and Eligibility Review (ESER)
    (1.5 hours)
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
    (3 hours)
  • Identifying Learning Theory (1.5 hours)
  • Individualized Education Program (IEP)
    (1.5 hours)
  • Monitoring Student Progress (1.5 hours)
  • Post Secondary Transition Planning in the IEP (45 minutes)
  • Roles and Responsibilities (1.5 hours)
  • Strategies for Accommodating Individual Need (1.5 hours)
  • Supporting Student Learning Styles ( 1.5 hours)
For more information, visit education.alaska.gov/eLearning/ or email us at eLearning@alaska.gov
29 CFR 1910.1030 (Federal)
Working with blood borne pathogen
Employees expected to respond to potentially hazardous situations At time of initial assignment to tasks where occupational exposure may take place; At least annually thereafter.
  • Precautions Against Blood-borne Pathogens eLearning Course will fulfill 29 CFR 1910.1030.
For more information, visit education.alaska.gov/eLearning/ or email us at eLearning@alaska.gov

* * Districts must create and use individualized, district and site specific resources to
     fulfill the mandated training requirements listed below * *

Laws Requiring District Staff Trainings Who must be trained? Time Requirement? Available EED Resources to comply with state and federal laws Contact Information /
Resource Links
Alaska Statute 14.33.100
Required school crisis response planning
Each district employee Annually, in crisis response including evacuation & lock down drills The Department of Education has an eLearning course and two examples of crisis response plans as resources intended to be used as guidance for districts in creating their specific crisis response plans. These resources are NOT intended to be used for staff to review to fulfill this training. eLearning@alaska.gov
Examples:
Todd Brocious, 465-2887
Alaska Statute 14.20.149
4AAC 19.060
Employee evaluation
Each school district shall provide in-service training in evaluative techniques for all certificated staff. Before conducting any evaluations; Annually The Department of Education now offers two eLearning courses and an evaluation handbook as resources to provide guidance for districts in creating their evaluation procedures. These resources are NOT intended to be used for staff to read to fulfill this training
  • Certified Employee Evaluation for Administrators (2 hours)
  • Certified Employee Evaluation for All Other Certified Staff (1 hour 30 minutes)
elearning@alaska.gov
Evaluation Handbook - pdf
Sondra Meredith, 465-8663